The Journey Begins

 

This is a place for Atheists, Agnostics, Christians, all humans.  This is not the place for Christians who believe they have a moral superiority to Atheists, or a place for Atheists who believe they have an intellectual superiority over all Christians.  I don’t have all the answers, but I like to learn and share what I have learned.  I am always up for a challenge.  Though I do believe I have an answer to “What is the meaning of life”.  I believe it is to use the gifts our Creator endowed us with and to give Him the glory for all things, as He created everything for His glory and we have nothing without Him, and will only find fulfillment in Him.

God is such a generic name, I don’t like to use it too often (but for simplicity sake I do), but when I capitalize it, I am referring to YHWH.  Yes, that is the God of the Bible, but I also don’t like to refer to Him as that, because I believe too many people confine God to the Bible.   I believe the Bible is a great tool to help us know God, but not the only tool.  And people can come to know their Creator without a Bible, and for anyone who seeks their Creator and Provider, He will reveal Himself to them.  Sometimes through a Bible, sometimes through actions of others, sometimes supernaturally, but all who genuinely seek, will find.

I do not think God can be scientifically or academically proven, and though apologetics has it’s place, I think it is generally an incorrect approach.  God is to be experienced and not proven, that is why no one can, nor will ever prove God, and we need to stop trying.  One cannot measure or scientifically prove love, but it is there and it is undeniable and powerful, and can be shared and experienced.

Science is a wonderful tool that God has blessed us with and I love how he uses it reveals His marvels more and more to us.  Trying to to fit our concept of God or our understanding of scripture to science is not something I think God cares about, especially if we use words of hate in the process.  I like the scientific process and kind of use it as I learn about God.  When a new idea comes to my mind (through reading the Bible, a blog, or some revelation) I like to search the Bible for passages or messages that support or even more, refute that idea so I can know if it is good.

I believe the most powerful sin is pride. I think that is the first sin recorded and all sin roots from it.  It is choosing our own desires over those of God’s.  At one time I thought the worst sin was selfishness, but to be selfish is to want the best for yourself.  Many seek their own desires over their own health and well being.  One who is eats junk food is not selfish, they are serving their own short sighted desires, not their well being.

I am aware that many of my beliefs shared on this site can be seen as prideful in that I am claiming to know certain things and that others are wrong and I am right.  I can’t un-think what I think.  I am just sharing my thoughts (hoping it is God’s wisdom shared/revealed to me).  The earlier parts of my life I was a strong creationist and attempted to defend it vehemently.  Now I regret I ever did, and evolutionary creationist, and that makes a lot more sense to me .  I am very open to any comments and will say there is very little I can say with complete certainty.  The only thing I can and will boast in, is that God is good, loving, merciful, gracious/graceful, and just.   That is just a truth, it isn’t circumstantial, it just is.   Whether all go to heaven, or Jesus is required to go to heaven, or the earth is a few thousand years old or millions ect.  I have thoughts and opinions on those based of scripture, but can confidently say I do not know the certain answer to those questions. “The secret things belong to the LORD our God, but the things revealed belong to us and to our children forever, that we may follow all the words of this law.”.

Sometimes, Christians have a good desire to share God with others.  But instead of following the truths of God, loving our neighbors as the Samaritan did the wounded stranger, Christians follow our own human pride.  We want to share God our way, Christians ‘know’ the world was created in 7 days and spend/waste their lives attempting to prove it.  When you get to heaven, (and actually find out the answer to that question)  do you think God will say “Well, you believed in my Son, you tried to glorify me, but, you believed in evolution, so you go to hell!”?  Really?  It is our pride that makes these mole hills into mountains and that sin that spreads more hate in the world and separates us further from God.

I grew up in the church, being a Christian in name (and technically followed the ‘steps’ to become saved) but never really wanted to know my Creator, and share His wonders with all.  I was close minded and stuck to strict tradition doctrine only.  As I grew up, I learned the traditional doctrine might not be right.  I became very open minded and I believe learned more about God.

Most importantly, I want to live my life to make a name (Jesus) the world remembers.  I love this Casting Crowns song (only Jesus) and hope to pass on the wisdom in this song to my kids. At my funeral, I don’t want to live a legacy, I don’t care if they remember me, only Jesus!

First administratively, I will ask for one help to organize this site and make pages for each blog so it is not one long home page of all the blogs, but I am not very internet savy.  This is my first attempt at a blog, so feel free to send me tips or anything you think will help.

  As I build this blog, there are a few topics I would like to address and as always, comments are welcome.  Please comment/challenge what I put down, I want to learn.  I ask that you please be open minded, respectful, and humble.


Leave a comment